All (2002-Present)  SS20  WS20  SS21  WS21  SS22  WS22  SS23

 Karl Franzens University Graz

Graz University of Technology 

TUG/KFU Physics Colloquium Winter 2022

 

Tuesday 04 October 2022      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

-

 

Tuesday 11 October 2022      KFU

16:15 - 17:15

Self-organisation of proteins in cells
Prof. Erwin Frey, Arnold Sommerfeld Center - LMU Munich
https://www.theorie.physik.uni-muenchen.de/about/board/erwin_frey/

Protein pattern formation is essential for the spatial organization of intracellular processes like cell division, and flagellum positioning. A prominent example of intracellular patterns is the oscillatory pole-to-pole oscillations of Min proteins in E. coli whose function is to ... more

 

Tuesday 18 October 2022      Online talk


16:15 - 17:15

Changing the Face of Greenhouse Gas Sensing with Optical Frequency Combs
Ian Coddington, NIST Boulder USA

The optical frequency comb is rapidly maturing from a laboratory curiosity to a critically enabling technology in areas ranging from dual-comb spectroscopy of atmospheric gasses, to precision time dissemination, to the search for earth sized exoplanets. This talk will focus on th ... more

 

Tuesday 25 October 2022      KFU

16:15 - 17:15


 

Tuesday 01 November 2022      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

TBA
Prof. Quentin Ramasse, Director of the SuperSTEM Laboratory in Daresbury UK, School of Chemical and Process Engineering in LEEDs UK

 

Tuesday 08 November 2022      KFU

16:15 - 17:15

Single-molecule analysis with nanoelectromechanical systems
Prof. Silvan Schmid, Micro- and Nanosensors, Institute of Sensor and Actuator Systems, TU Wien
https://mns.isas.tuwien.ac.at

 

Tuesday 15 November 2022      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

-
Prof. Michael Knap, TU München

 

Tuesday 22 November 2022      KFU

16:15 - 17:15

TBA
Prof. Stefan Mathias , Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
https://www.uni-goettingen.de/de/580823.html

 

Tuesday 29 November 2022      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

-
Prof. Dr. Roland Wester, U Innsbruck

 

Tuesday 06 December 2022      KFU

16:15 - 17:15

Controlling optical properties at the nanoscale: an (electro-)chemical approach
Prof. Gilles R. Bourret, Paris Lodron University of Salzburg
https://www.plus.ac.at/chemie-und-physik-der-materialien/staff-2/a-bis-d/bourret/

 

Tuesday 13 December 2022      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

Physical Principles of Shape Changes in Biology
John Dunlop, Paris-Lodron University of Salzburg
https://www.morphophysics.com/john-dunlop

 

Tuesday 20 December 2022      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

Chiral symmetry breaking
Yves Geerts, Université Libre de Bruxelles
https://chimpoly.ulb.be/yves-geerts/

 

Tuesday 10 January 2023      KFU

16:15 - 17:15

Single-photon sources and detectors for quantum based radiometry
Prof. Stefan Kück, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

 

Tuesday 17 January 2023      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

tba
Giulio Cerullo, Polimi Milano

 

Tuesday 24 January 2023      KFU

16:15 - 17:15

-

 

Tuesday 31 January 2023      TUG

16:15 - 17:15

The role of surface kinetics of ligands from metalorganic precursors in 3D Nanoprinting
Dr. Ivo Utke, EMPA Thun, Switzerland